Life!

Yee Rah Review – Good Food, Good Company.

Hello Guys & Dolls,

I’m hoping some of you are planning to go out for tea this weekend as this post will definitely get your mouths watering. I’m coming at you tonight with a restaurant review of Yee Rah in Liverpool One. This Yee Rah has been the only one in the country for 10 years, I had no idea it was exclusive to Liverpool and shockingly I had never been before, I now know what I had been missing.

IMG_1369

It is part of the Thai Leisure Group and these guys own the restaurants Chaophraya, Thaikhun and Chao Baby, the Thai Leisure Group are expanding this year and opening more restaurants across the country, so hopefully a Yee Rah will be somewhere near you soon. If not though, it’s a great excuse to hop on the train to Liverpool, explore our City and then grab a bite to eat here.

IMG_1360

Yee Rah have recently re-branded and now go by the tag line Wok & Grill (previously Bar & Grill), this tweak to the tag line hits the nail on the head for this restaurant as it serves up lots of Asian dishes, as well as classic Western choices such as burgers and fish and chips, with a little bit of Mexican fajitas thrown in to the mix as well.

There was a wide variety of people in the restaurant when I visited, couples, friends on an evening out, family groups, dressed up ladies and dressed down lads, to me this showed how Yee Rah can cater for any occasion and any kind of eater. I always find that when I want to go out for tea with my hubby we always settle on Italian, as we both love it, but sometimes I want a delicious rice or noodle dish (which he hates), and there aren’t many places that offer these and another variety of meals on the menu, so now I’m so glad to have found the perfect place to settle with an Asian dish whilst he tucks in to a whopping burger.

What did we order on the night?

2 For 1 Cocktails – All the time.

I took my Mum along with me on this particular evening (sorry hubby), so we obviously ordered a cocktail. The classic cocktails are on two-for-one all the time, winner, so we enjoyed a French Martini each & it was delicious.

IMG_1335

IMG_1341

To start

We went for the prawn crackers, as I love prawn crackers and have never had them from anywhere except the chippy, they came with a sweet chilli sauce and were a lovely nibble to have before the mains arrived.

We also shared the Prawn Tempura, these were the highlight of my evening, they were so delicious and full of flavour and when they describe them as succulent, they really were. Again, these came with a sweet chilli sauce and this complimented them so well.

IMG_1349

 

IMG_1351

Main Course

I ordered the Panang Curry, this is a mild thai curry dish. It is packed with flavour and has the slightest spicy kick to it but because of the coconut milk it also has a sweetness to it. I ordered mine to come with chicken, and it is served with Jasmine Rice on the side. Seeing as I’m not a massive lover of veg, this was the perfect choice for me as it is not made with many mixed in, so I’m not spending forever picking bits out (yes I am still 5 years old when it comes to food sometimes). It was a very tasty dish and filling, exactly what you want from a main meal.

IMG_1354

My mum ordered the YeeRah Singapore Noodles with chicken. This was served up in a wok and I have to say looked much more photogenic than mine (always good for a blogger, sorry, cliché, I know). Important to note though – it tasted as delicious as it looked. The thin rice noodles were tossed full with vegetables; beansprouts, carrot, peppers, spring onions, and was flavoured with curry powder and a small amount of chilli. However, don’t worry, this is also a mildly spiced dish but still full of flavour. You can chose to have this dish with either chicken, beef, prawns or just vegetables.

IMG_1352

Desert time

We were both so full from our starters and mains that we decided to share a dessert and chose a selection of sorbets. We had apple and raspberry as our flavours. These were so tangy and sweet and the perfect dessert to have after a filling meal. Plus they were presented like Mickey Mouse (yes, my mind is always on Disney).

IMG_1358

IMG_1357

Gluten Free options too!

Our overall experience in Yee Rah was lovely, the staff were so attentive, the setting was really authentic, I liked the way although you can order non-asian dishes, they have still kept the décor very Thai inspired. It was lovely to treat my Mum to an evening where we could have a good chat over delicious food. I will certainly be back here again for either a spot of lunch or evening meal, or even for some nibbles with my 2 for 1 cocktails before a theatre or concert trip.

IMG_1356

I have left a link to Yee Rah’s website here, so be sure to check it out and see what dishes take your fancy, and you’ll also be able to see how reasonable the prices are too.

Let me know if you have been here and what your favourite dishes are.

Have a great weekend,

Jess

xoxo

 

*This dining experience was complimentary from Yee Rah in exchange for the review. All images & views are my own.

Leave a Reply

