Travel

The holiday starts at the Airport!

Where does your holiday start for you? Are you the type that says it starts when you book it? Or when you step off the plane? For me, it is when I get to the airport. Once I’ve parked up and headed in to Departures then I am in holiday mode! I actually really enjoy airports, they’re great for people watching, great for choosing new places to visit from reading the departures board and great for picking up a bargain.

I recently travelled to Dublin from Liverpool John Lennon Airport, a Dublin City Break blog will be coming up soon, but for now I wanted to share my experience and tips about my local airport.

image1

I have traveled from this airport quite a few times now and each time has always been a smooth and pleasant airport experience. This time we parked up at the airport and left our car in the Multi-story car park for the duration of our trip. You can book your parking online via their website (I have left a link near the end of this post) and all car parks are within very easy reach of the airport main building. I love to park my car at the airport as I know I’m not hassling anyone for a lift and when I get off my flight and can’t wait to climb in to my own bed, then I’m happy to head straight for my car and not wait for a lift or taxi to arrive. The multi story car park is located just opposite the terminal building, so it’s super close, and very easy to use. You log your car’s registration plate when booking online and when you arrive at the barriers the camera’s will scan your plate, recognise it & give you your ticket to head on in and park. Hassle free.

img_0396

I’m off guys, T’ra!!

Once we’d parked up, we made the really short (and super handy) walk to the Departures terminal. Now it was early in the morning so the airport was nice and quiet and we headed straight to security (as we had checked in online). I went in one of those new full body scanners which was quite strange, but hey it was secure and quick.

img_0385

We headed for coffee, Starbucks of course, but there are a few coffee stands to choose from, then we hit the shops and duty free for a browse.

There is a Boots store and I always like to grab a few travel size toiletries from here, like make up remover and deodorant, as it saves room in my suitcase, and my clear liquids bag (if you’re travelling with hand luggage).

img_0383

3 for 2 guys! You can get this from a high street Boots but I find it easier getting them when at the airport!

I had a spritz of perfume in duty free, which always makes me feel fresh, and of course a browse of make up too, I always like to see what savings I can get.

img_0375

img_0379

There’s a WHSmith’s which is great for picking up a holiday read or a magazine!

img_0384

Has anyone read Not That Kinda Girl by Lena Dunham? I’ve heard great things and it did look pretty good, so although a posed pic, I was actually interested.

I like to get settled at the gate a little early after having a browse and a drink, as my nightmare is being somewhere in the airport and hearing my name being called out over the tannoy, I would go into a massive panic, probably forget how to even walk and then die of shame! If I have a coffee and good book then I don’t mind waiting round.

If you haven’t used the parking facilities at LJLA before or yet, then you should definitely give it a go. I know that if I am travelling from there again, which is hopefully soon, then I will be booking online straight away, for the friendly price, convenience and knowing your car is safe, it is definitely worth it.

I have attached a link for Cheap Airport Parking at Liverpool Airport for anyone that is interested.

Hope you enjoyed this post guys, if you did please let me know, and also let me know if you are travelling anywhere lovely soon?

Love, Jess

xoxo

img_0390

 

What I’m wearing

Coat – M&S (I bought it in the sale in January & had been lusting over it for SO long, I can’t find it online but I’m sure it will be in an Outlet store somewhere)

Shoes – Stan Smith’s by Adidas Originals with the green detail – a favourite pair of trainers of mine.

This post was written in collaboration with Hit Search Liverpool and Liverpool John Lennon Airport. All images and views are completely my own.

 

Leave a Reply

