Fashion

Shopping for Spring/Summer with Aintree Shopping Park.

Who else is ready for Spring? As much as I love my coats, after months and months of them, I’m finally ready to hang them up and step in to spring time. High street stores are now finally rid of the major sales and are bringing in the new Spring/Summer styles. I love this transition as all the shops look clean and crisp again and everything is neatly on display so just by scanning the shop floor you know what section you want to head to.

I was invited to go shopping at Aintree Shopping Park and to see how their fashion stores are welcoming the new trends of the seasons ahead. I am a regular shopper at this retail park anyway as it’s not too far from where I live, and it’s easier to nip here than in to the city centre sometimes. It has free parking, 2 major high street fashion stores, Marks and Spencer and Next, a large Boots store and plenty of home stores and eateries. For the size of the retail park and the ease of getting to it I always think an Outfit store would do amazing up there, but I will just wait in hope for that one.

img_0410

So I should tell you that this new blog post will be in 2 parts, how exciting hey. In this first post I will be shopping at M&S. M&S is a store that I have grown up shopping at, I think there has always been at least 1 item from here in my wardrobe. I love the look on people’s faces when they say they like my shoes, handbag or dress and I tell them it is M&S, as I’m sure some people still think it’s in its St Michael’s era (throwback alert). It really isn’t guys and M&S make some amazing quality clothes and are now collaborating with celebrities to create new younger lines for the store.

These are the key Spring/Summer trends that really stood out to me when I shopped at the Aintree store.

Edgy Florals

“Florals for spring, groundbreaking!” Well this season fashionistas, they may just be!

img_0397

This midi length dress is the perfect mix of girly style with a harder edge, I think the darker colours make it a more versatile style and a great transitional piece for the spring to summer season. This is £45 and the small puffed and ruffle effect sleeves also tie in to the 80’s vibe of the season.

Style tip – pair a floral dress with chunkier shoes to give it a more rock chick feel. 

img_0405

This floral outfit is a two piece and combines the floral and embroidery trend together so well. I am a huge fan of embroidery as I think it is an expensive looking design. The blouse and skirt retail for £45 each, but make a stunning head to toe look.

Wear these with a pair of black barely there heels & head off to a wedding or summer event.

img_0408

The Classic Trench

It’s not quite Burberry but we can all dream.

img_0402

Now I joke that these aren’t Burberry but M&S make seriously good quality coats, and these trench coats are no different. There are so many colours to choose from this season which cements it as the lighter style jacket to have for Spring. I have got my eye on the classic beige trench, or a navy one as I think this is the kind of coat that will not age and you can use year after year.

Summer Stripes

Think deckchairs and funfairs. 

img_0399

This section right here is so me. Bright box bags, striped and ruffled dresses, and embroidered jumpers. Like Harry Potter says when he sees the trolley on the train, “we’ll take the lot!” I wish! Stripes are a huge trend this season though, and I’m so glad as I think vertical stripes create a really flattering silhouette. The inspiration from seaside stripes has created fun but well tailored pieces for spring and summer.

The striped ruffle dress (£45) would take you through the year by mixing it with tights and boots, then bare legs and some gorgeous sandals.  

Stand out in Khaki – honestly, you can.

This could be the colour of the season and was seen all over the catwalks for Spring/Summer 2017. It’s such an easy colour to wear and it looks so laid back that it makes for the perfect on trend weekend outfit. This khaki dress is £39.50.

A khaki dress, brown suede ankle boots, and a blush pink bag would keep you standing out in the fashion pack.

img_0404

Shirts Revamped

I love shirts, they’re a classic and timeless piece to have in your wardrobe. This season you will see a lot of revamped styles of shirts on the high street that will work great for transitional pieces, and for both day and night time looks. This shirt (£27.50) really stood out to me, and I just had to try it and I loved it. It’s comfortable, looks chic and will go great with blue or light grey jeans. The long length of it also means it’ll look fantastic peaking through from under a trench.

Style tip – Pair with cute demin shorts and sandals for a layed back summer holiday outfit. 

img_0412

Style tip – wear this in 2 ways. Tie the two front long pieces together to create a shorter shirt look, or wear flowing. 

Now I did say there would be a part 2 to this blog post, and that is because on Tuesday 14th February, the brand new Next store is opening on Aintree Shopping Park, and I am going to head there for a VIP Customer Shopping night on Monday and I want to capture Next’s take on the coming season’s trends. I already have my eye on a few Athleisure styled pieces. So head back here on Tuesday evening and see what else Aintree has to offer for Spring.

Here is a link for the retail park detailing what it has to offer and all information about the park – http://www.aintreeshoppingpark.co.uk/

Have you got a favourite trend for this coming season? Has anything above stood out to you? Let me know by commenting below or tweeting me (@jessimilton25),

Until Tuesday,

Jess

xoxo

Ideas of the Sports Luxe/Athleisure styles that I am so excited to share & try out.

thumbnail_screen-shot-2017-02-02-at-15-36-14

This post was a paid collaboration with Aintree Shopping Park. All words & views are my own.

2 thoughts on “Shopping for Spring/Summer with Aintree Shopping Park.

Leave a Reply

