Fashion

A dress for everyone – from Very!

December, the month that brings the excitement of Christmas, decorations, amazing flavoured coffee, and all the Christmas parties. Whether that is the office party, a family party or a night out with the girls, we always want to feel good when getting our glam on, but December can be such a hectic time too. Once you have finished work or Uni, and you’ve dragged yourself either to do the food shop, tidy the house or be really good and go to the gym, the last thing you want to then do is head to the shops for your party outfit while you’re feeling rushed off your feet. Well let me tell you ladies, that’s where Very.co.uk can help. Get home, relax, pop your feet up and browse their party dresses in comfort, no parking nightmares, no long queues, just a hot cuppa, sparkly dresses and the faint sounds of I’m A Celeb in the background.

I had to include that far right pic, this is my face when I spotted an incredible dress! Me being me!

Before you head off for a browse though, I want to share with you the fantastic evening I had at Very’s Liverpool HQ at the Shop Direct offices. The evening was hosted by Alex and Renee from Very, they provided us with the most gorgeous array of dresses, shoes and handbags, basically I was in my happy place. My excitement to be there was tipped over the edge though when I spotted Prosecco, Cupcakes, a Photobooth and the NYX make up corner. I know I have just described girl heaven under one roof, but seriously, sticking me in a room with gorgeous shoes, glittery make up, photobooth with props and prosecco, makes me the happiest person ever. But, “focus Jessica”, I said to myself, as I could of easily played with the make up and shoes all night, but I was invited to this special event to share the fabulousness of Very’s party dresses for this season.

I still managed to fit in some NYX glitter lips! Thank you @simplychloe_ for these pics! 

What I realised when looking round the room at all the Bloggers and Influencers that were there, was that everyone was totally different (which I love), different in age, shape and style, and yet there was a dress to suit everyone. I’m going to share with you my top picks for different styles that can suit the ladies who will be dressing up this party season to well deservedly let their hair down.

Petite

For petite ladies I think a delicate dress suits them very well. My mum and one of my best friends are petite ladies, they are small in height and frame, and I’m sure they would agree that less is more when it comes to choosing a party dress, now I don’t mean in skimpy terms, I mean in the style of the dress. Too much fabric could hide their frame and too much length could make the shape all wrong. So how do we find the perfect mini or midi? I think I did. This black, prom style dress would show of a petite frame perfectly. It would show of your waist through the fitted dress underneath, but add the wow factor with the slightly longer length in the skirt that has stunning embroidery detail on.

img_0576

img_0529

I also think this sparkly playsuit would be perfect, it would show off a petite ladies frame amazingly, it would also look incredible on someone with fab long legs. This is such a gorgeous party outfit, I’m sure so many women will look incredible in this, but I’m just not confident enough to pull this off.

Curvy Ladies

Now I know all us ladies have curves, but these items I chose are for the ladies who like to dress in specific plus size ranges. So many shops now sell clothes that go up to sizes 24-28, but a lot of the clothes are created for a generic size, and therefore don’t flatter every style and shape. However, Very have created a line, “So Fabulous”, for curvier ladies. The clothes are made especially so accentuate the shoppers features and also to flatter and create confidence in the wearer. This dress I thought was perfect, the material drapes beautifully, so would create a lovely flowing look, and the V neckline would show off just the right amount of cleavage for the bustier lady. The sleeves are also very flattering and fall delicately over the top of your arm.

img_0537

img_0533

This jacket is also from the So Fabulous range, and would look fantastic over a plain black maxi, or to jazz up a jeans look. The detailing all over this jacket makes it a wow piece for the party season, and the perfect party go-to for any lady that may want to cover up their arms.

Fashionistas

A fashionista to me is someone who knows their style inside out, but is also ready to experiment and own it with confidence. All of that just reminds me of Carrie Bradshaw, and these two items screamed Carrie at me. I paired these two together and thought they would work great for a day time event, or evening party, you could just choose your shoes and accessories to change up the look from day to night.

img_0536

img_0578

This chic rail was made up of the satin pyjama look, sequin tank tops, sheer lace tops, and metallic pleats. I wish I could totally rock this rail, but again I just wouldn’t suit it or have the confidence, but I have so many girls in mind who would look incredible in these pieces.

Glamour Girls

This black and gold themed rail was so glamourous that it just made me want to crash every Christmas party going just so I could wear all these. But it was this embroidered and lace gold dress that really caught my eye. Without a doubt this would be hanging in my wardrobe in a heartbeat – if I had a party to go to. This year I am just at day to night parties, so not really the right kind of feels. But wow, it’s honestly stunning.

img_0544

img_0541

This glamourous dress also caught my eye, I love the 60’s vibe to it, and I also love how you could wear this bare leg or with tights, it has that mix up style to it.

Timeless Elegance 

I love how when I see a dress I always think of who I think would look great in it, and when I saw these I instantly thought of some of the ladies I work with. The dresses are so elegant and would look amazing at an evening party. The detailing on the navy is very 1920’s and the blue faux fur jacket would look fantastic with it. The beaded black dress is a timeless piece, it is so sophisticated and would look stunning on any shape or size.

img_0510

The preppy look

Hello my style! Over the years I have realised that I am drawn to anything with a collar or neckline detail. I find it very flattering, and I am so happy when I buy something in this style as I know I feel good in it and I will wear it a lot. The preppy look always reminds me of Jess from New Girl, and I am SO fine with that.

This two piece is a black velvet dress over an embellished collard white shirt. Not only do they create a fab look together, but the shirt would also look great paired with black jeans and boots. Like I said, my Christmas party this year is a day time thing, so as soon as I saw this I knew I’d found the right outfit for good day time vibes, still with it having that Christmas sparkle.

img_0509

 

img_0571

Again, this red dress has stunning neckline detail, the lace effect is so pretty. I love how this dress would look great with tights, as well as with heels or flats. It is another from day to night transitional piece. Yes, Very.

The Trend Setter

These are always the girls that know what is right on trend, and always rock it. These two fabulous looking rails hold the key pieces for that. The perfect mix of metallic colours, sequins, animal print and the ever chic star detail. I love the dress and top that has the mesh effect with stars embroidered on and has a bronze dress and tank underneath. I might take myself out of my comfort zone and give the top a go, it is just so pretty.

img_0506

img_0582

The black sequined top paired with the silver metallic skirt would look fabulous from day to night, but can we just look at the slinky silver glitter dress on the end. The spaghetti cross over straps, and the V cut out to show just the right amount of cleavage give this dress a super sexy vibe. We’re talking the perfect NYE dress, which leads me in to my final pieces.

New Year’s Eve

If you’re going out for NYE then you have the perfect reason to go all out! I go out every year for New Year’s, I always have done, even when growing up we would go to big parties on holiday or at a hotel, so finding the dressiest outfit for that night was always my favourite thing to do. But this year, will be my first chilled out one, so no incredible sequined jumpsuit for me. However someone please wear one of these two incredible party pieces and just have a ball for me dancing the night away and turning heads for all the fashionable reasons. If you’re more of a dress girl, then this sequined number is for you, but if you love to rock a jumpsuit (my friend’s will know I love them), then hello Studio54 inspired starry piece.

img_0572

 

img_0583

In among this blog, whenever I talk about a new item, I have tried to link the shop page in the wording, but if you just want to browse the whole Very party dress range then head to this link Here.

I hope I have opened your eyes to the awesome range Very have, and how you can enjoy party shopping from your sofa. I also know that Christmas is really tight on the purse strings, so Very offer a spread the cost service, perfect for those who need a little extra saving time.

I’m going to head off now, as I’m actually going to search for a bag and shoes that caught my eye, so I’ll leave you with pictures of the perfect accessories to go with these incredible party pieces. And don’t forget, if you’re wearing a Very Dress this season, share it and use the hashtag #VeryDresses.

Happy shopping,

Love, Jess

xoxo

 

*I was invited to the Very Dresses event and I have chosen to blog about the evening sharing my own thoughts and opinions on the items.

One thought on “A dress for everyone – from Very!

  1. These dresses are so beautiful – I especially love the long-sleeved black sequin one 😍 Very is a shop that I always forget about but will definitely have to check it out now for some cute dresses – thank you for sharing this ☺️ x

    Like

Leave a Reply

