Life!

Love to Bake Part 1 – Choc Chip Muffins.

Hi Everyone,

First of all I have a few things to say before I dive in to my first baking blog. I just want to say I’m sorry I didn’t post more blogs last week, I had the worst stomach bug, and the virus just would not go, it’s a week today since I got it and I finally feel SO much better. I hate the way these bugs last and totally knock me off my feet. Also, I reached a small goal of mine, 100 people hit Follow on my blog and that’s amazing. Thank you so much for all the support, it means so much. If you haven’t followed me yet, please do and receive all my new posts straight to your email.

Now on to the best part – Cake.

I love to bake, I’m not the greatest at it, but I really do enjoy it. I find it really relaxing, and because only my family and myself eat it, I’m not too scared of making mistakes (the odd soggy bottom has happened). The recipes I bake from I get from all over the place, some are from books I have, my current favourite is Tanya Bakes by Tanya Burr, the recipes are really easy to follow and there’s some great variations of classic bakes in there, but mainly I search for recipes online that look the simplest, as when you just want something to be tasty, you don’t want it to be faffy.

img_8106

I’m obsessed with my scales and cake tester. Both from M&S and work a dream.

Today I baked some Choc Chip Muffins and the recipe was from an online forum, I’ll share it here and hopefully you can bake successfully from it.

 

Ingredients  to make 12 Choc Chip Muffins

300g Self Raising Flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

50g cold unsalted butter

80g caster sugar

150g milk or plain chocolate chips (I only used 100g)

2 eggs, lightly beaten

225ml milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

img_8101

Method 

Preheat your oven to Gas Mark 6/200c/400f and get your muffin cases ready on the baking tray.

Mix the flour and baking powder together in a large bowl. Rub in the butter until the mixture is like breadcrumbs. The consistency of this will only be very fine as you haven’t added a large amount of butter. Then add in the sugar and chocolate chips and stir all together.

In a separate bowl mix the eggs (beat them first), milk and vanilla extract, then add this all at once to the large dry mixture and stir all together.

Spoon the batter in to the muffin cases and bake for 15-20 minutes or until risen, golden and firm to touch. I baked mine for just over 20 minutes, this worked for me as I have a gas oven so I have to be sure they’re all baked equally. 

Allow muffins to cool in baking tin for 10 minutes, then transfer to cooling rack or serve immediately on your choice of gorgeous stand or tray.

img_8102img_8105

As you’ll see, this method is super easy and super quick. I’d say the prep takes 15 minutes, so all in all, you’ll have a delicious dozen of choc chip muffins in just over 30 minutes. That sounds perfect to me.

img_8108img_8109

 

If you enjoyed this blog post and would like to see more of what I bake then please let me know, and if you have any suggestions of a fun, tasty, home bake then please share with me the recipe and I will give it a go.

img_8110

 

 

Have a wonderful week ahead, and keep your eyes peeled for my next post, all about The Body Shop, Birkenhead bloggers morning.

Love,

Jess xoxo

 

 

 

Here’s one I made last weekend – Apple & Blackberry Crumble from Tanya Bakes. Check it out on my twitter – jessimilton25.

img_8113

 

Leave a Reply

