Life!

How Do I Stay Motivated?

Disclaimer – My pics for this blog are from Pinterest, as this site is incredible for inspiration. Like how did I ever get by without it? 

When writing a blog along side a full time job, home life and social life, it can be hard. I write because I enjoy it and because I want to do it, but sometimes I do feel less motivated to do so. From doing 2 degrees at University I know how unproductive it is to make yourself sit there and write when you don’t feel inspired or in the zone, you’ll never produce your best work and 9 times out of 10 you end up just re-writing it all anyway. I’ve learnt now that if I’m not feeling motivated, then don’t force it, just wait and your inspiration and motivation will come back to you and you’ll be much more positive in what you are doing.

So how do I stay motivated? It’s a matter of all different things. It can come down to the environment I am in, the people I have been surrounded by that day,  or something I have watched or listened to.

Surround yourself with positive things

It’s not great to set out writing with lots of distractions around, so set your creative space up somewhere you feel settled. For me, I don’t have a desk at home to write at so I vary between chilling on my bed with some music playing, or sat on the couch with an old TV show (usually Gossip Girl) on low in the background. I like to have a snack and drink near by and then pop my phone on silent. It’s good to feel relaxed here as you can be there a couple of hours, so pop something comfy on, and light some candles, my faves are Yankee, they make everywhere smell amazing.

Dreamy Desk and Living Room Inspo!!

Encouragement

With this being a new blog, not even 1 year old yet, I always think not many people read it, and it’s just not growing as fast as I want it to. But then I will publish a post and get some amazing feedback from friends and family and even the companies I post about. Receiving a text or tweet from a friend saying how much they loved reading a post, and they’ve gone to a restaurant I recommended or bought a product I liked, is the best thing ever, and the next time I visit a bar or restaurant after I have blogged about it and the staff say they read it, loved it and shared it on, is really special. With that being said, if you do love a fellow bloggers blog then tell them, even better give a tweet out saying you love it and share on their post. Kindness is key.

These girls are my absolute fave bloggers, and they smash it! Everyone starts somewhere and needs inspiration. 

I Am Chouquette.       In The Frow.        Lydia Elise Millen. 

Words to go by

I am always on the hunt for new quotes. Pinterest is amazing for this. I love positive quotes, I save them to my phone and have a scroll through them in the mornings and when I’m having a bad moment. I think quotes are a great form of inspiration and motivation as they can give your positive outlook a real boost. I always feel like they’re talking right at me too, so when they tell me to do something, I’m like “ok, I will, let’s do this!” Here are some of my favourite motivational quotes.

These are just some of my faves, I could go on and on!!

Made to jump up and go

I love watching inspiring things that show real dedication and hard work from people. This could be so many different things like documentaries, movies, biographies, sporting events etc. A huge motivational moment recently has to be the Olympics and watching our Athlete’s do so so well! Their passion totally shows through and is so inspiring. With being a huge lover of films and acting, I get so inspired from watching a great performance and that motivates me to do better and strive for what I want. Reading someones life story is also really motivational, you can see how they overcame difficult times, or how they achieved their dreams.

I really hope this post has given you some ideas on how to get and stay motivated. Remember that your motivation can come from anywhere, it’s an individual thing. If anyone has any fabulous tips then please share, but always remember you can do it, just keep a positive mind!

Love,

Jess xoxo

6 thoughts on “How Do I Stay Motivated?

  1. I loved reading this Jess, I often look at the inspirational quotes on facebook, also the beautiful pictures that go with them. Sometimes I think there isn’t enough praise, encouragement & positivity in the world on a regular basis to keep us going. xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

