Beauty

High Street Beauty Haul!

 

IMG_1878

So here is another beauty blog from me! It’s all about products I have recently bought from the high street beauty stores, otherwise known as ‘drugstore’ brands. I don’t really like using the term ‘drugstore’, so instead I see them as the high street brands as opposed to designer make up brands.

I love make up shopping in Boots and Superdrug, one it’s purse friendly (unless you get carried away), two, there is so much to choose from, so give yourself lots of time (tip – don’t make up shop with your boyfriend/husband, they will honestly just be bored and moan!!) and three, a lot of the make up now is comparable with the top designer brands.

I will start with my Boots Buys.

As I’ve said before, the foundation I love to use for going to work, and other things during the week is the Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation, so I needed to buy another tube of this. The Rimmel make up was on 3 for 2, so it would have been rude to not look for some other goodies.

stay-matte_product

http://www.boots.com/en/Rimmel-London-Stay-Matte-Foundation_1378522/

I found this contouring palette in the Kate Moss for Rimmel collection. It was only £6.99, and I’m really impressed by the colours, especially the lovely light pink blush. This is perfect for me as I’m still learning how to contour and highlight, so this really simple kit makes it super easy!!

hr_kate-sculpting-003_product

http://www.boots.com/en/Rimmel-London-Sculpting-Palette-by-Kate-002_1823508/

My other buy was this Super Curler mascara. I have needed a new mascara for ages and I like ones that make my lashes look full. My lashes are naturally very long, so I don’t need a lengthening mascara, but I do love the false lash effect. This mascara comes in Black and Brown, and really gives shape to your lashes, as well as making them look full. I’ll definitely add this to my regular beauty buys list.

Rimmel_Super_Curler_24hr_Mascara_12ml_1_1443175533_main

http://www.boots.com/en/Rimmel-London-Supercurler-Mascara_1749781/

Now, my hairdresser (The Colour Bar – Fb and Insta name) will kill me for this, but I found these super cute and delicious smelling Shampoo and Conditioner set. They were only 75p each, yes 75p!! I couldn’t resist. I have used them and they have actually left my hair super soft, and smelling great. I’m sure they won’t last long in our house as the Husband loves them too.

IMG_1892

I don’t mind trying out different hair brands, but if you do want to try a more expensive brand that is brilliant for your hair, I would recommend Joico Products, these are what my hairdressers use on all clients, and my hair feels fantastic for up to a week after being treated with it.

Another hair product that I swear by is Dry Shampoo. Any girl that leads a busy life needs a good dry shampoo, especially if you have long thick hair like mine that takes a good dedicated 90 minutes to washing, drying and styling by yourself. I have tried quite a few brands, but always come back to Batiste. I love the scents of each one they offer and they blend really well in to your hair. Dry shampoo not only helps freshen up your hair but also helps you style it when your hair is clean, it adds volume and texture.

8953785942046

http://www.boots.com/en/Batiste/Dry-Shampoo/

 

Now let’s hop over to Superdrug.

Superdrug is more of a new shop to me. Over the last couple of years I have started to shop here more and more. I actually think this is due to there being one in the heart of Liverpool One. They have a huge variety of make up brands on sale, some I had never heard of.

I don’t know if this is just me, but when there is a cheaper make up brand I tend to relate quality to price, so I avoid their products. However, I am happy to stand corrected with this particular product that was super cheap.

Revolution Highlighter

The gorgeous girly, Laura Stewart Artistry (Fb and Insta name), who did my make up for my wedding shared a picture of this on Facebook and said about how many good reviews she had heard about this product. It was £3 guys, and the powder is super soft, applies to skin really nicely and shines and catches the light perfectly.

I also got some make up brushes. These were also on a 3 for 2 offer, I needed blusher/powder brushes and Mum needed an eye shadow blending brush, so we split the offer.

http://www.superdrug.com/Superdrug/Superdrug-Powder-Brush/p/560707

http://www.superdrug.com/Superdrug/Superdrug-blusher-brush/p/648450

These brushes are really soft, even though they were at the lower end of the price scale. I want to invest on some really good make up brushes, but I think these will come when I know what I’m fully doing with them.

Not only do Superdrug have the 3 for 2 offer on, they also had a deal that if you bought 3 make up/beauty products, you got a free make up bag! I seem to hoard make up bags, I only realised the other day how many I have, and I still like to buy them, so to get a free one, Winner!!

Beauty Wish List

So if you read this, and you love beauty products, then please help me out. I’m after some new Primer’s to try out, I don’t mind high street brands or designer. I use Porefessional by Benefit and Le Blanc De Chanel by Chanel, I love them, but I need to add a few more to my collection.

Also, if you recommend any new brands to try then I will go check them out. Please put them forward.

Hope you enjoyed this and can go hunt down those beauty deals and bargains.

Until next time,

Jess

xoxo

Leave a Reply

