Beauty · Travel

London Calling!

Day 1 

11377189_10153382050318599_9027639524367431130_n

Welcome Back to the blog. I’m mainly saying that to myself as it feels like ages since I sat down to write! I have been on a trip away to London (which is what this blog is about), then it was Easter Bank Holiday, and then I got sick; cold and flu to be exact! So I have just not had the time or energy, until now!

So the London trip was only a 1 night stay and 2 days of adventure, but we always try and cram a lot in. This time I went down with my mum, it was an early celebration for her birthday! It was a fabulous trip down, we always love visiting the Capital, and this time everything we did was different to what we’ve done before. I have split the blog in to 2 parts, as I have lots and lots to share, and didn’t want to make this one too long. So here goes Day 1.

The Hotel

grange-st-pauls-hotel-exterior

Think I’ve mentioned this before, but I love decor, and we both fell in love with this chair and the lobby!!

The Grange at St Pauls. This hotel is beautiful. We found it on lastminute.com and loved the facilities and location of it! We were both in need of a little pampering time so we chose a hotel with Spa facilities. The spa here was lovely, we first used the sauna, jacuzzi and swimming pool, and then moved in to the area of the spa that had large couches and comfy beds to relax on, in this area you could help yourself to the hot/cold drinks provided and some chocolates – YUM! I haven’t been on a spa break in ages, so it was so nice to just take our time and relax in there.

Our room was lovely too. The bed was huge and really comfy. Robes and slippers were provided, as well as tea and coffee facilities. You did have to pay extra for the mini bar and fridge to be opened, so we just left this and picked up our own goodies. The TV was nice and big and had all regular channels so we could relax and pop that on whilst getting ready. The only downside, which is really small, is that the Wifi wasn’t great in the bedrooms, but worked well downstairs. We didn’t really need it, but I imagine this would be frustrating to business travelers.

 

The location of the hotel was brilliant. It was so close to the tube station, just a 5 minute walk. It is opposite the stunning St Paul’s Cathedral, and there are a lot of coffee shops, bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk, and it is a short distance away from the (wibbly wobbly) Millennium Bridge; known to me as the “Harry Potter bridge”!! On the same street as the hotel there is a Cafe Rouge, one of my favourite restaurants, we went here for breakfast. Is it quite sad that I would return to this hotel for one of the reasons being it has a CR so close? I think so.

The views from the rooftop bar of the hotel are amazing. You can see St Paul’s in all its grandeur, the Shard, the Thames, and even The Globe Theatre on the Southbank. It just shows how good the location is.

IMG_1138.JPG

 

Exploring Covent Garden

It is somewhere we always end up passing through, or nipping to, but we never really spend a lot of time looking round. Covent Garden is famous for many reasons; the street performers, the opera house, movie locations and shopping, some of my favourite make up boutiques are here.

This time we got to look round the market, stop for a slice of cake in Laudree, mooch in Sass and Belle and get a piccy in the spot that Audrey Hepburn sells flowers from in My Fair Lady.

Our main reason for coming to Covent Garden though was to visit the Charlotte Tilbury flagship store. We were booked in to have our make up done in the downstairs Beauty Boudoir. Oh my gosh, the downstairs area is absolutely gorgeous, and when we arrived we were handed a glass of Prosecco, so naturally we felt right at home.

We got to chose one of the 10 signature looks and the make-up artist would create the complete look on us. I had The Dolce Vita and Mum went for The Sophisticate. The girls who did our make up were so lovely; Marta and Tamzin.

We came away with some of the amazing make up, I got the Magic Foundation and Hepburn Honey Lipstick, Mum got the Grace K eyebrow pencil, Pillowtalk lip liner and the Hepburn Honey Lipstick too, and we got some amazing samples. My next purchases from CT though will definitely be the Magic Cream moisturiser, it is so soft on your skin and really helps hold your make up in place, and the Filmstar Bronze and Glow, the highlighter in this kit is amazing, a small amount really does define your facial features.

Spot the Filmstar Bronze and Glow set. The packaging is just so gorgeous.

If you go down to London and you love make up I’d highly recommend going to the flagship store. You can pre book a make over in the boudoir, I have put the link above, and you can shop till you drop on the first floor.

To end the day we grabbed a delicious tea in Pizza Express, and strolled back to our hotel, but not without finding the cutest late night cupcake stand, so naturally we got some, who can pass a cupcake stand and not buy some?? Not us!

 

This was our first day of adventures in London, and we loved it. We were ready for a good rest in the giant comfy bed, as the next day we had lots planned; a walk along the Southbank, the Tower of London and the Vogue 100 exhibition. I will write about this in my “Day 2” blog, keep your eyes peeled for that.

I hope you have enjoyed this one, and can get some ideas of things to do when you visit London for just a day or 2. I have been down so many times and done lots of different and fun things, so if you would like to read about those let me know and I’ll share my finds and ideas.

Until next time,

Jess

xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “London Calling!

Leave a Reply

